Bakkavor Group Graduate Reviews

Employer: Bakkavor Group
3.5
3.5/5 average employee rating (as reviewed by 51 people)

All of the below job reviews are anonymously written by graduates working at Bakkavor Group to provide you with a unique insight into working there.

7.8
3.9/5
Date added: 07th April 2016 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
1. Get put into a real job, with real responsibilities. 2. Get involved in wide variety of projects. 3. Knowing that once scheme is finished you will have a permanent job. 4. Get experience dealing with customers - not just sat at desk all day. 5. You get a mentor to help you - they also push you to develop further.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Employer:
Career Sector: Buying and Selling
Career: Sales
Voted Useful by 38 People
7.4
3.7/5
Date added: 04th April 2016 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
Company: The company is seen as the market leaders and the retailers first port of call for expertise Role: Exposure. As a AMS you get loads of exposure to retailers and are able to make a difference.Company: Expenses. it takes a really long time to get personal expenses back, therefore we are out of pocket for a while Role: Marketing is centrally based and therefore seeing the commercial/development teams in your category can be hard as Bakkavor sites are all over the country.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Employer:
Career Sector: Arts & Media
Job Title::
Marketing Analyst
Team:
Desserts
Voted Useful by 31 People
8.2
4.1/5
Date added: 30th March 2016 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
Opportunities for taking on projects and initiatives of my own are widespread and also encouraged with a lot of support on hand.There is very little downtime for any individual in the factory. You must be willing to work long hours and work hard for every one of those hours.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Employer:
Job Title::
Materials Controller
Team:
Materials Planning
Voted Useful by 28 People
6.9
3.5/5
Date added: 30th March 2016 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
The accelerated management scheme allows me to get lots of on and off the job training. The development scheme has regular culinary training days where we learn about food ingredients in depth; such as potato, grains/pulses, leaf, fruit and pastry. We get expert advice from talented chefs and senior managers within development which is great for networking within the company. I feel like I am valued in my team and I have settled in quickly. The opportunity to move around in the business, with 2 one year placements is great for my development, and it's a great way to travel around a bit after university.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Employer:
Job Title::
AMS Development Technologist
Team:
Bakkavor Meals
Voted Useful by 34 People
6.1
3.1/5
Date added: 30th March 2016 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
This job allows for a lot of opportunity to work across a wide variety of prepared food categories. It is great to be able to experience different factory environments and enables me to continuously gain knowledge of the food industry. We also attend culinary training days, which are good fun and a great way to learn and improve my knowledge of the role. The role does involve a fair bit of travelling.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Employer:
Job Title::
AMS Development Technologist
Voted Useful by 33 People
7.7
3.9/5
Date added: 30th March 2016 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
Given a lot of great opportunities to learn new skills to allow you to progress. Networking opportunities with retailers and the wider Bakkavor group. Training courses are readily available. Leaders in innovation.Can involve long hours at peak busy times of development.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Employer:
Job Title::
Development technologist
Team:
New Product Development
Voted Useful by 32 People
7.8
3.9/5
Date added: 09th March 2016 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
As an international AMS, I only work in UK for one year. However, the program is very well organized. I have rotations in the technical department over the whole year. I started as an QA (quality auditor). Working in the factory on a daily basis, I understand the essential things that need to be done to ensure food safety. Then I moved to Technical Service, where I got to know hundreds of raw materials, how to audit the suppliers and deal with the raised issues. I am currently working in Process and looking after trails for some new products. I've got good experience in communicating with the customer and make changes according to their requirements. So far, I have benefited a lot from this program and I really enjoy my job.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Employer:
Job Title::
International Technical AMS
Voted Useful by 29 People
8.7
4.4/5
Date added: 03rd March 2016 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
The people. The company has a very friendly ambiance with everyone having time for everyone else, whether they are senior management or production operative. They also have time for all the questions. Going in at graduate level means you have a lot of questions to ask and everyone is more than willing to talk things through with you. The role I undertake allows me to see a lot of extra tasks that are needed to be carried out and I am exposed to things that a lot of other technical roles would not enable me to be involved in. In some roles the hours can be very long so it is essential that you are flexible.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Employer:
Job Title::
Projects Quality Auditor
Team:
Technical
Voted Useful by 31 People
6.9
3.5/5
Date added: 03rd March 2016 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
Variety of job roles and placements. Also get funded and support to complete CIMA accounting qualification.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Employer:
Career: Accountancy
Job Title::
Management Accountant
Team:
Finance
Voted Useful by 33 People
9.9
5/5
Date added: 02nd March 2016 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
The people. The team I work with and the support I am given throughout my graduate scheme are brilliant.Difficult conversations. This is related to HR rather than Bakkavor but the job involves having difficult conversations around disciplinary, grievance and personal issues such as bereavement. I believe I find this difficult as I am new to the role but I am improving and developing each day with the help from my team.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Employer:
Job Title::
HR Assistant
Team:
Human Resources
Voted Useful by 32 People