Sellafield Ltd Reviews

All of the below job reviews are anonymously written by graduates and apprentices working at Sellafield Ltd to provide you with a unique insight into working there.

9.6
4.8/5
Date added: 27th March 2017 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
Company wide drive to train you to be the best in the world in order to solve the world challenges we face as engineers.Due to the nature of the job heavy health and safety standards are applicable sometimes these are applied in divisions of the business which can make getting work done long drawn out processes.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Employer:
Job Title::
Electrical Engineer
Team:
Utilities
Voted Useful by 10 People
6.9
3.5/5
Date added: 27th March 2017 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
Interesting and challenging technical work.Rural location.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Employer:
Career Sector: Energy and Utilities
Job Title::
Materials Engineer
Team:
Technical
Voted Useful by 7 People
9.2
4.6/5
Date added: 22nd March 2017 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
Good work/life balance, excellent support in getting chartered, high graduate salary.The nuclear industry can move slowly.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Employer:
Career Sector: Energy and Utilities
Job Title::
Chemical Engineer
Team:
Engineer
Voted Useful by 7 People
9.2
4.6/5
Date added: 22nd March 2017 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
The opportunities for self development and progression are better than anywhere that I'm aware of. The company really cares about its graduates and I feel that I can develop myself in any way provided that I can justify it. Being such a large site there are endless ways to continually learn, even over a lifetime career I would imagine. The core structure and training of the scheme is great and helps me get a wider understanding of the site rather than becoming too insular within my department. The technical work that I encounter within my role is challenging and enjoyable and I feel that I have been well placed.I think people's experience/enjoyment of the graduate scheme are largely dependent on the sort of line manager that is delegated to an individual. I have been very fortunate to have been given a line manager that I get along well with and who understands how I need to progress my career; but I'm aware that some others have not been so lucky with management or placement and perhaps there could be more fluidity in secondments. Equally I'm aware that if someone really has a problem then it is relatively easy to escalate these issues far beyond line management so this 'worst part' isn't all that bad or difficult to fix - essentially I've no complaints myself of the scheme and have found it to really work well for me.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Employer:
Career Sector: Energy and Utilities
Job Title::
Graduate Physicist
Voted Useful by 2 People
8
4/5
Date added: 20th March 2017 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
The flexibility and diversity of placements, we organise our own placements - choosing which department to go to and which discipline to do and when.Some placements are short and therefore you do not always get enough time to get enough learning and experience. The competencies are more suited to one side of the scheme than the other.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Employer:
Career Sector: Energy and Utilities
Voted Useful by 7 People
9.2
4.6/5
Date added: 15th March 2017 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
The extremely high levels of responsibility at an early stage of my career.The poor efficiencies intrinsic in large companies and my constant strive to overcome them.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Employer:
Career Sector: Energy and Utilities
Job Title::
Operations
Team:
Operations
Voted Useful by 3 People
8.6
4.3/5
Date added: 14th March 2017 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
Opportunity to move around.Very rigid and highly regulated working environment.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Employer:
Career Sector: Energy and Utilities
Voted Useful by 4 People
8.6
4.3/5
Date added: 14th March 2017 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
I get a lot of responsibility and a lot of support from others around me.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Employer:
Career Sector: Energy and Utilities
Job Title::
Process Design Engineer
Team:
Design
Voted Useful by 3 People
5.8
2.9/5
Date added: 13th March 2017 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
The salary is okay and I have some nice colleagues.Slowness of progress due to "red tape".
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Employer:
Career Sector: Energy and Utilities
Voted Useful by 9 People
6.8
3.4/5
Date added: 13th March 2017 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
Challenging work in a unique environment.Location - travel time to and from work can be up to 3 hours a day.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Employer:
Career Sector: Energy and Utilities
Job Title::
Graduate Trainee
Team:
Project Controls
Voted Useful by 2 People