Simmons & Simmons LLP Reviews

Employer: Simmons & Simmons LLP
Sector: Law
4
4.0/5 average employee rating (as reviewed by 51 people)

All of the below job reviews are anonymously written by graduates and apprentices working at Simmons & Simmons LLP to provide you with a unique insight into working there.

7.3
3.7/5
Date added: 30th March 2016 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
There is a decent work/life balance and every department has some lovely people in it. Hard work is usually appreciated.Alongside the nice people, every department has its difficult characters as well. The quality of work varies massively from department to department.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Career Sector: Law
Job Title::
Trainee Solicitor
Team:
Corporate
Voted Useful by 15 People
8.6
4.3/5
Date added: 30th March 2016 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
Expertise of people you can learn from combined with their openness and willingness to train you.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Career Sector: Law
Job Title::
Trainee Solicitor
Team:
N/A
Voted Useful by 17 People
8.4
4.2/5
Date added: 30th March 2016 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
Very supportive and open culture. People are approachable and interested in you and your development. Great trainee intake. Real respect for diversity and inclusion. Lots of cultural events organised. The hours are long however that is a feature of corporate law.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Career Sector: Law
Job Title::
Trainee Solicitor
Team:
Litigation
Voted Useful by 19 People
7.6
3.8/5
Date added: 30th March 2016 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
Friendly environment. Open door policy. Good work. People are willing to explain things to you to help you learn. A good range of work. Fortnightly drinks trolley in litigation and weekly cake trolley in corporate.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Career Sector: Law
Career: Paralegal
Job Title::
Trainee Solicitor
Team:
Corporate
Voted Useful by 14 People
8.1
4.1/5
Date added: 30th March 2016 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
The people; the work environment; the high-quality clients.The retention figures.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Career Sector: Law
Job Title::
Trainee Solicitor
Team:
Projects
Voted Useful by 14 People
7.7
3.9/5
Date added: 30th March 2016 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
Decent levels of exposure to good work; the quality of training in some departments is excellent.Few opportunities for international secondments, and it's very easy to be forced into a client one.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Career Sector: Law
Voted Useful by 14 People
8.2
4.1/5
Date added: 30th March 2016 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
Very supportive atmosphere so if you are working late, you won't be alone or unsupported. Great social opportunities through sports, internal networks, and department events.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Career Sector: Law
Job Title::
Trainee Solicitor
Team:
Financial Services
Voted Useful by 15 People
8.8
4.4/5
Date added: 30th March 2016 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
The people - I know this seems a rather trite response but it does ring true here. The people are interesting, fun, approachable and brilliant at what they do. It makes coming to work every day and working long hours enjoyable. We are a really close trainee cohort and I would consider them very good friends. I went travelling with three of them before we started and we intend to go away again. The building - I haven't had an external window for 2/2 seats. It's a bit like being in an airport. I don't know what time of day or night it is.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Career Sector: Law
Job Title::
Trainee Solicitor
Team:
Litigation
Voted Useful by 15 People
8
4/5
Date added: 30th March 2016 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
People friendly firm; flexible; no face-time culture; variety of work; responsibility given early on.Hours can sometimes be tough.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Career Sector: Law
Job Title::
Trainee Solicitor
Team:
Corporate Law
Voted Useful by 19 People
7.9
4/5
Date added: 30th March 2016 by Anonymous
What are the best and worst things about your company?
The level and variety of the work I'm asked to commit.The unpredictable hours, and the fact that my time is not my own, in the sense that I react to tasks, there is limited scope to be proactive.
What do you actually do on a day-to-day basis?
Career Sector: Law
Job Title::
Trainee
Team:
Litigation
Voted Useful by 15 People